User Tag List

123 Last

Enneagram
    827 sp/so

Default how not to fuck up your stupid life

This is for all of you young whippersnappers who are just starting out, mostly. Not that you'll listen to any of this if you're anything like me (I was DETERMINED to figure everything out on my own and make my own mistakes... probably shouldn't have done that!), but this at least gives me a reason to smirk and say "see? I told you so!" whenever applicable

I started out with quite a bit of potential when I graduated high school and proceeded to undermine that for at least the next decade. I'm approaching 30 rather rapidly now and have finally come to realize a few points that really would have made my life A LOT easier

you can't do everything alone

this one is probably the toughest thing I've had to learn... I NEED to prove that I'm self-sufficient on some very basic level and have always felt like a failure if I needed the assistance or advice of others. I should be smart enough to solve ALL of the problems, dammit!

However, this is not true no matter HOW intelligent you are. There's a lot of stuff in life that you haven't had to encounter yet and don't even have a basis upon which to judge it. What do you do if you've just gotten into a car accident? What if you're arrested? How do I deal when I get my heart broken the first time or am betrayed by a friend? When do I realize that I actually have a problem and need help?

Parents usually don't go over the negatives of those sorts, and schools don't offer classes on it. Your best bet is to ask someone who's been there before and LISTEN when they give you advice. This isn't easy to do... especially when it's advice that you don't want to hear. You'll think "pfft... I can come up with a better solution than that!" And that's usually about the point where your brilliant idea just digs the hole deeper because, like I said, this is all new and uncharted territory!