User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to take critique/criticism well.

Bunnies & Rainbow Socks Array Kayness's Avatar
    9w1 sp/sx

Default How to take critique/criticism well.

Ok so I'm a freelance digital artist.

I'm on this other forum. It's an art forum frequented by both students and industry professionals.

They have this subforum where you can submit a sample of your works so that you can get your portfolio critiqued by the pros.

I consulted @Stephen first, because as much as I'd like to get feedback from the pros, I know that I am also my own very harsh critic (I'd say harshest), very perfectionistic and strive to be very meticulous. While I do enjoy the process of painting, I must admit that there's always this little feeling of nervousness bubbling just below my subconscious. I'm very nervous that I'll get criticism because it makes me feel ashamed and obsess: why didn't I realize this earlier? Why didn't I preempt and foresee these problems? I can't believe I'm so sloppy...etc.

You can say that my Ennea One-wing comes out very strongly in this area: I want to be perfect and so good so that nobody can criticize me. I know that realistically I'm not so bad (I'm decent enough of an artist to make a living out of it) but still, it makes me burn with shame every time I see somebody else tells me that there's something wrong with my art. I'm not angry at them, I'm just angry & ashamed at myself that I couldn't be better.

He said that I should, and so I did.

So I submitted these pictures:

Critiques that I got so far:
    • too many clashing/bright colours
    • too flat
    • not enough values (greyscale)
    • anatomy is my weak point
    • lack of focus
    • perspective not quite right

and wow they really haven't even tried to mince their words >_<