User Tag List

123 Last

Klingon Warrior Princess Patches's Avatar
    MBTI
    ISTJ
    Enneagram
    6w5 sp/sx

Default Advice on being a good roommate

I've had A LOT of bad experience with roommates. Admittedly, I have had some very immature and very crazy roommates, but at some point I have to take responsibility over the fact that I am the common denominator, and I'm probably hard to live with to some people.

I think I would be a fantastic roommate. I hide in my room, I barely talk, I don't make much noise. I'm like a ghost. A ghost that CLEANS EVERYTHING. But I have come to the realization that if my roommate were as awkward and introverted as I am, they would love that.... But for an extrovert? That's hell. They're pretty much alone, and they can't even talk to the person they live with.

My brother made the point, too, that since I always have people living with me who (clearly) don't have friends of their own to room with, they might be counting on me to have someone to know here. They probably don't know anyone and want friends.

I've had situations where I lived with someone and we talked so little it was awkward to pass them in the kitchen. She couldn't even remember my name we talked so little, even though we lived together for 5+ months. We couldn't even communicate over basic things like what to set the thermostat at.

So I have made a bit of a resolution to not be a creepy, weird roommate for once. I'm going to try not to hide in my room behind a computer screen, and actually socialize with her. I'm going to try not to be socially awkward.

Do you guys have any recommendations on how to make this work? What kind of things do you like in a roommate?

TL;DR: Give someone who is PAINFULLY introverted advice on how to be a good roommate to an extrovert. Or a good roommate in general.
    “Everybody has a secret world inside of them. All of the people of the world, I mean everybody. No matter how dull and boring they are on the outside, inside