123 Last

Patron Saint Of Smileys Gloriana's Avatar
    MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    6w5
    Socionics
    INFJ

Question Do You Post In Your Own 'Voice' ?

I was just having a look through some of my past posts looking for one in particular, and I noticed that I felt some of my posts captured my actual 'voice' in real life better than others. In some I'm very diplomatic and clipped with my proper English, and in others it's like I'm truly translating my very own conversational voice into a post.

I think I am personally influenced by the tone of the thread sometimes. I'm really aware of rules (I swear much more in real life than I do on the boards, though I don't think I'm gratuitous with it), and I'm really aware of consideration toward others who may be reading. Also, since I'm a writer I automatically fall into my 'written voice' for the most part.

I like communicating in what I feel is my actual, real life voice though. I do sometimes wish more peeps were on Ventrilo on a regular basis, because I wonder what y'all sound like and I like getting a chance to let people 'hear' me and perhaps put it all together with my posts to get a clearer idea of me.

My approach to message boards (even StumbleUpon and Facebook) I always try to make a fairly honest representation of myself rather than fall into an 'online version' of myself.

Just wondering what thoughts you peeps might have on this from your own POV.
    "Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get, but if you work really hard, and you're kind, amazing things will happen. I'm telling you...amazing things will happen" --Conan O'Brien

Patron Saint Of Smileys Gloriana's Avatar
    MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    6w5
    Socionics
    INFJ

Ah shit, I meant to post this is in 'The Bonfire'.

Dumb multiple tabs :steam: