User Tag List

12 Last

Default Netiquette - read all the posts?

I've been posting on internet forums for many years however I can tell that on occasion my post seems kind of random because I'm only responding to the original post. Is it best to just be quiet unless you take the time to read through everything or is it OK in your opinon to just read the original post and go to the end and add your two cents worth?

Just wondering!

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    4w5

Quote Originally Posted by alicia91 View Post
    I've been posting on internet forums for many years however I can tell that on occasion my post seems kind of random because I'm only responding to the original post. Is it best to just be quiet unless you take the time to read through everything or is it OK in your opinon to just read the original post and go to the end and add your two cents worth?

Just wondering!
    I've done both, but occasionally I feel silly replying to the OP when I realize someone else said almost exactly what I did, only elaborated on and discussed it with other members.

So I don't think it's unacceptable, but you should definitely quote the OP if you reply directly to it rather than to the subsequent topics. The only real worry is that you might simply repeat something someone else said and sound unoriginal. I've never been told that's rude.

MBTI
    ENFP
    Enneagram
    7w6
    Socionics
    ????

Just wondering!
    I always comment when I find something that makes me want to comment! I'm not very consistent in my ways, so I do both.

MBTI
    INFP

Quote Originally Posted by athenian200 View Post
    I've done both, but occasionally I feel silly replying to the OP when I realize someone else said almost exactly what I did, only elaborated on and discussed it with other members.
    I'm always paranoid about this when I post and it slows me down. I have the same problem in real life social situations.

Quote Originally Posted by athenian200 View Post