User Tag List

12 Last

perdu fleur par bologne Martoon's Avatar
    MBTI
    INTP

Default Martoon stresses out - boss wants me in-office, with people

All my posts here up to this point have been silly and/or discussion oriented in nature. This is my first "I'm posting because I'm freaking out" post. Apologies in advance.

I started my current job about three years ago. I'm a programmer for a "serious games" studio (games for training people). Initially, it was just myself and another programmer I've worked with in the past (we were both in the commercial games industry). The studio is in the campus of a tech college, associated with the college. Toonia and I lived 40 miles from the campus, and my boss was okay with me coming in a 2-3 days a week, and telecommuting the rest.

Shift to the present. The studio has grown - we now have two artists and a producer. Following the death of our landlord (and subsequent sale of the rental house), toonia and I moved in with my sister and her husband, 1.5 hours from where I work (i.e., 3 hours round trip). The idea is to get some debt paid off and get into a position to buy a house. I explained this to my boss, and asked if he was okay with me coming in one day a week. I told him it was a temporary situation. He was okay with it, and that's what I've been doing for the past few months.

I actually work a lot better from home, where I can focus on writing code without being surrounded by people. At work, our desks are against the walls, so there's always people moving around and talking behind me, and watching me work. It's good for me to go in once a week to communicate with everyone and stay on the same page (and I like all the people there), but I get little or no actual work produced while there. I'm also not fond of having 3 hours sucked out of my day with the commute (with my age and low energy, I don't have much stamina for long days).