User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    infp

Default Explaining the meaning of a word??

Does anybody else have trouble explaining what a word means to other people?

I do. I know what the word means, but I can not for the life of me, at times, translate that into words that someone else can understand.

I had to explain what a dictatorship meant to someone yesterday lol and I was saying "You know, it's a dictatorship, you know......."

Infact I'm not very good at explaining things at all, even if I know something, when it comes to verbalizing those things, I become quite flustered and find it very hard to put it into concrete terms that they will understand.

Anyone else find this happening to them?

I would make a crap teacher.
    Echo - "So are you trying to say she is Evil"

DeWitt - "Something far worse, she's an Idealist"

Berb's Johari Berb's Nohari

Phantonym

YES! This is very, very, VERY troublesome for me. I also know what the word means but it's too difficult to put it in some coherent form without frustration. It's so clearly in my mind, I can FEEL the meaning, but when I try to put it into words, it's so inadequate.

And then, after I think I've put my thoughts into at least some kind of an understandable form, I still get the look. I can try to explain myself for all eternity but I still get the feeling that not many get it, not really. That certainly doesn't make me feel good.

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    8w9

I try to put it in a context or sentence.

MBTI
    infp

Quote Originally Posted by Sky is BLUE! View Post
    YES! This is very, very, VERY troublesome for me. I also know what the word means but it's too difficult to put it in some coherent form without frustration. It's so clearly in my mind, I can FEEL the meaning, but when I try to put it into words, it's so inadequate.