User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    GONE

Default Recommendations for Study in Spain?

Hey folks, random but serious question - any advice or experience studying Spanish in Spain?

Right now I'm doing online searching and the schools seem to be concentrated in the following cities:

Madrid
    Barcelona
    Malaga
    Salamanca
    Seville
    Granada
    Valencia

I'm looking to go for either 4 weeks this winter or else an extended program of 12-24 weeks next year.

I am total newb. I have Rosetta Stone and so far have learned how to say, "Un nino y una nina encima la pelota" Seriously. And "Es mentira". And "Donde estamos?"

So I will be taking a total beginner track.

If anyone has recommendations or experience studying in Spain, would love to hear your thoughts. Especially in terms of cost effective-ness and the pros/cons of different cities and how to find a good school.

At first I was looking to study in Barcelona (whoo! big city! culture! arts!) But right now, I'm looking more at the southern coastal cities as the programs there are noticeably cheaper.

Thanks in advance!
    “If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you.” ― Oscar Wilde

"I'm outtie 5000" ― Romulux

Johari/Nohari

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    8w7 sx/so
    Socionics
    EIE

Barcelona is an ugly-ass city, but lots of people go there to learn spanish.
    I'd personally recommend Mlaga if you care for atmosphere.
    I hate cities that aren't close to the sea, though...
    And that kind of disqualifies most of the rest.

Mightier than the tread of marching armies is the power of an idea whose time has come

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    7w8
    Socionics
    ENTj

I personally think Barcelona is beautiful, for my standards at least. I am an economics student so I've most heard about Pompeu Fabra university, which is one of the best in Europe.