• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

I throw down the gauntlet to the "real" geeks.

Who are you and what do you use?

• I'm a programmer (inc amateur) and I use Linux/ BSD

Votes: 2 7.7%
  • I'm a programmer (inc amateur) and I use Windows

Votes: 3 11.5%
  • I'm just a plain ole user and I use Linux/ BSD

• I'm just a plain ole user and I use Windows

Votes: 10 38.5%
  • I'm brave and I use Vista!! (joking...)

Votes: 5 19.2%
  • I'm looking forward to Windows 7

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I refuse to answer as I'm too lazy to read this but wanted to click an option anyhow.

Votes: 1 3.8%
  • All of the above.

Votes: 1 3.8%
  • Other (please explain.. it'll only bother me otherwise)

• Total voters

Xander

Lex Parsimoniae
MBTI Type
INTP
Enneagram
9w8
So all you Linux and BSD fans... this may ruffle feathers.

I've tried more flavours of Linux than I have skittles. Each seems to come polished or not in it's own little idiosyncratic world of techno babble. Each finds some drivers and not others and each seemingly insists on standing out from the crowd somehow.

Now I'm not exactly the worlds worst with technology so with hordes of people raving about the qualities of Linux and BSD over windows I thought I'd give it a try (again, for those who read my blog).