User Tag List

123 Last

Thread: Game Theory

MBTI
    ISTP

Default Game Theory

The topic has come up several times in books I have read and in discussions I have been a part of. Unfortunately I have little to no knowledge on the topic and would like to learn more about it and it's role in applied mathematics. Does anybody know of a comprehensive book I could buy that would go into detail on the somewhat broad subject?
    But sir, your opinion is wrong.
    TANSTAAFL!

no clinkz 'til brooklyn Nocapszy's Avatar
    MBTI
    ENTP

I'm looking forward to this too.

If no one's posted by then, I'll look at a few bookstores around my area tomorrow.
    we fukin won boys

MBTI
    ENTP

This isn't bad but I'm guessing you've already combed the page before you decided you needed a book.

It mentions this book somewhere in there.
    we fukin won boys

von Neumann, J. and Morgenstern, O.: Theory of Games and Economic Behavior (Commemorative Edition).

It's a bit dated, but a classic. I never read the whole things but it was rigourously presented (though I remember it being a Dover publishing book and a lot less expensive, so hopefully its the same one I am thinking of. I can't believe there would be many VonNeumann and Morgenstern books on game theory)

EDIT: Damn! you beat me to it.

Accept the past. Live for the present. Look forward to the future.
    Robot Fusion
    "As our island of knowledge grows, so does the shore of our ignorance." John Wheeler
    "[A] scientist looking at nonscientific problems is just as dumb as the next guy." Richard Feynman
    "[P]etabytes of [] data is not the same thing as understanding emergent mechanisms and structures." Jim Crutchfield

MBTI
    ISTP

Quote Originally Posted by ygolo View Post
    von Neumann, J. and Morgenstern, O.: Theory of Games and Economic Behavior (Commemorative Edition).