User Tag List

Thread: Need help with a record player

Default Need help with a record player

I have a Pioneer PL 115D record player from 1971-1972 aproximately, and I'm trying to get it hooked up again. It is hooked up to a much more modern receiver (i.e. 15-20 years old, has CD player input), although we still have the receiver that came with the player and it still works. It's my dads and I am new to record players as I have grown up with CDs and iPods. Basically, I keep fixing things and finding new problems, but it's very close to working!

At first it didn't work cause the belt drive was broken, but I've replaced it so it is spinning now. The issue is that the second music starts playing, the needle goes up and the whole thing stops. Sometimes the receiver even turns off!

The player has a "Return Button" that, in the words of the manuel is to "stop playback before the end of a record... tonearm returns automatically to the arm rest and the power is switched off." So evidently, the issue is related to this Return Button.

Does anyone know how to set up an old record player, and how to fix it so this does not happen?

The return button is related to, but probably not the cause of your problem, and since it does begin to play the record, it's probably not a velocity switch problem. I suggest reading this:

Turntable Forum :: View topic - Pioneer pl 115d auto return

If it doesn't help, at least the are people there own, or at least know about the Pioneer PL 115D, so they may be able to walk you through some ideas - I never owned that specific model.
    “Naked to unknown forces, fortune evades mere understanding. The trial of effort.
    The dream of change. Such a place might Hell be to thought and action.”