User Tag List

12 Last

Lasting_Pain

Default What exactly is Anti-Matter

I was reading my school news paper and interesting article caught my eye. It was about Anti-Matter. I am a seeker of knowledge, so I was instantly hooked. The name Anti-Matter reminds me of Star Wars and Mech Anime, but I digress, if it is possible could someone explain to me what exactly is Anti-Matter and what is its capabilities. I tried to research it, but I was unsuccessful, partially because I am not experienced in the field of physics and chemistry and I hardly understand it. So if someone could explain to me Anti-matter in simple terms, I would greatly appreciate it.

(On a side note, I am celebrating my 100th post.)

Habitual Fi LineStepper JocktheMotie's Avatar

Anti-matter is the opposite of its matter counterpart. A positron has the same mass, yet opposite charge as it's electron. An anti-proton has the same mass, yet the opposite charge as it's proton. All elementary particles has "anti" versions of themselves. When these two pieces of matter collide, they completely annihilate each other, resulting in a perfect mass=>energy conversion in the form of electromagnetic radiation.

Theoretically, you could have an anti-matter brother/sister, named Quickly-Alleviated Pain, and if you tried to shake hands you'd both disintegrate and explode as a burst of light.

Lasting_Pain

Quote Originally Posted by JocktheMotie View Post
    Anti-matter is the opposite of it's matter counterpart. A positron has the same mass, yet opposite charge as it's electron. An anti-proton has the same mass, yet the opposite charge as it's proton. All elementary particles has "anti" versions of themselves. When these two pieces of matter collide, they completely annihilate each other, resulting in a perfect mass=>energy conversion in the form of electromagnetic radiation.