User Tag List

12 Last

Default Evolution (and randomness)

I went to see an eye doctor today, and being a physicist I got thinking about what a complex system the eye is. How does something like that evolve?

It's all good having small changes in cells and stuff. But what kind of mutation creates a lens system accidentally? And how much more random processes does it take to breed a creature with a perfectly functioning lens system with aperture control and receptors?

There is no reason for a creature with a half constructed lens system to have an advantage over any others of it's species. And I can't see it evolving in one step.

These parts of evolution have always puzzled me. I don't believe in intelligent design or anything, I'm looking for science answers. I've never taken biology. What are the generally held theories on evolution these days, and how do they describe the processes driving it.
    Freude, schöner Götterfunken Tochter aus Elysium, Wir betreten feuertrunken, Himmlische, dein Heiligtum! Deine Zauber binden wieder Was die Mode streng geteilt; Alle Menschen werden Brüder, Wo dein sanfter Flügel weilt.

DoubleplusUngoodNonperson
    MBTI
    Hype

I don't think complexity starts with new mutations - it HAS to begin small and subtle for reasons you stated. Basically, somewhere along the line a biological mutation was made in cells that made those particular cells react/sensitive to different forms of electro magnetic radiotion. Think of something starting off with small/simple structure.... like primitve spider eyes or something, that was the first photo-sensitive cells that gave advantages. the rest could just be developmental history

Habitual Fi LineStepper JocktheMotie's Avatar

[YOUTUBE="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yj_lNQerUJ4"]Evolutionary steps of the Eye[/YOUTUBE]

Here you go.

Cool . Thanks to both of you.