Thread: Indiana Jones

MBTI
    ENFP
    Enneagram
    7w6 sx/sp
    Socionics
    IEE

Default Indiana Jones

I watched Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade and wondered about all the different characters and their types. So, anyone want to take a stab at any of the characters? It can be any of the movies or even the young Indiana chronicles.

Dr. Jones- ISTP
    Henry Jones Sr.- INTJ
    Marcus Brody- ExxP
    Marion Ravenwood- ESTP?
    Willie Scott- ISFx?

I'm still new to typing and still a bit unclear on some of the functions so please don't be too hard if I'm way off base.
    “We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” -Walt Disney
    Likes Studmuffin23 liked this post

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram

I understand why someone would type Indiana Jones as an ISTP; that's the way he's advertised. But if you pay close attention to the dialog, he reveals himself to be a major Ni dom.

SPs always have their mind on the present. But if you'll notice, Indiana Jones always has his mind on the future. He's constantly pointing out the future implications of everything. He's extremely wrapped up in his career, and feels bored when there's no major obstacles to conquer. He's obsessed with his goals, and stops at nothing to see a job done. He's also really good at interpreting puzzling information, pointing out the underlying meanings of everything he observes. An SP who uses that much Ni is not much of an SP.

The Se elements that people point out in Indiana Jones: an underlying desire for adventure and stimulation, for example, is more characteristic of inferior Se than dominant/auxiliary Se.

ENTJ was my first guess, but Indy uses far too much Fe and Ti. I can't see anything else other than INFJ. That would also explain his career choice and intellectual interests: he's an archaeology professor and an "expert on the occult" (not exactly a Ti/Se-friendly subject).