User Tag List

MBTI
    IxTP
    Enneagram
    5w4 sx/sp
    Socionics
    LII Ti

Default American Government Reduces Students to Statistics

I told you people some time back - governments are about statistics, not about humans.

"Everyone has a plan till they get punched in the mouth." Mike Tyson
    “Culture?” says Paul McCartney. “This isn't culture. It's just a good laugh.”

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    6w5 sx/so

They've been doing this big time ever since No Child Left Behind began.

When I graduated with a teaching degree earlier this year, they hadn't implemented the common core standards in my state yet, although we talked a little bit about it. I'm only doing one-on-one tutoring right now, so I don't have to be an expert in C.C. at this point, but when people complain about C.C. being about statistics--the thing is, they've been doing this for over a decade now with NCLB. Teachers have had to use standardized tests so much, and the schools' own funding depends on these scores, so teachers essentially have to teach to the test.

It's really bad for kids. The one class I helped with, the teacher only had the students read half of the Shakespeare play they were studying and read a summary of the rest, all because they had to make time to study for the state standardized test coming up. How does this allow the kids to actually learn what they need to about this play and literature?

And many kids just aren't good at taking tests--this isn't a reflection on how much they have learned.

And who thought up the idea of rewarding schools with high scores with more money, when studies have shown that the schools who could benefit most from more funding would be the schools with the lower scores?

And why are teachers being judged by this? Everyone knows that there are some students who just aren't interested in learning, no matter what you do and how hard you try to teach them.