User Tag List

Thread: Black Amish?

Default Black Amish?

I was thinking about this watching a TV show earlier which featured some Amish communities, I was wondering is there such a think as black amish or are the amish a sort of exclusive and essentially real monocultural? If there's no black amish are there other black communities which resemble the amish? To what extent do communities like that, which choose and aim to practice a radical departure from the norm or mainstream society, achieve that independent, self-sufficient existence or isnt it possible?

MBTI
    ISTP

I'm not an expert on it or anything, although I did live in an area with a lot of Amish for a while. I believe that anyone can choose to join the church, but it is extremely difficult for anyone who didn't grow up in the community to adjust to the lifestyle, so you don't have many people of any ethnic group outside of their own. I'm not sure what their stance on adoption is though.

I'd probably never be part of any intentional community which would have me but sometimes I think that arcane lifestyle would be interesting to live in for a while, see if it improves or influences my health.

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram

I think there are a very few black Amish people, most of whom came into the community as children through the foster care system. But I think for the most part it's a self-contained community that doesn't get a lot of outside air. I don't think they seek converts.

There's also the Mennonites which are sort of similar to the Amish in lifestyle, but not as insular or conservative. It seems like it would be more realistic to convert to the Mennonite faith if someone wanted the "Amish experience" but wasn't born into it or prepared to pretty much renounce everyone and everything they know.

MBTI
    ISTP

It would be interesting, although I think anyone interested in trying it would be better off doing it by themselves so they could gradually ease in to it.