User Tag List

12311 Last

MBTI
    enfp
    Enneagram

Default Thoughts on Upper-Income tax breaks?

It's reported on several places, like this one:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/1...n_1011601.html

That essentially, the US Treasury would absorb $72 Billion annually or something like that every year if they just stopped giving the upper 5% of America's wealth the tax breaks they currently have.

I'm not an expert on anything when it comes to this sort of thing.. but I do know that I'm poor and I'd still be willing to give up at least 1 year of tax returns entirely if it meant that our country got out of debt, schools got the upgrades they desperately need, and healthcare could become available at least to the elderly and minors.

would something like this really work? Is it just as simple as forgoing tax breaks?
    Kantgirl: Just say "I'm feminine and I'll punch anyone who says otherwise!"
    Halla74: Think your way through the world. Feel your way through life.

Cimarron: maybe Prpl will be your girl-bud
    prplchknz: i don't like it

In Search Of... ... Kiwi Sketch Art ... Dream Journal ... Kyuuei's Cook book ... Kyu's Tiny House Blog ... Minimalist Challenge ... Kyu's Savings Challenge

Banned
    MBTI
    ENFP
    Enneagram
    6w7 sp/so
    Socionics
    IEI

That much money could be made simply by taking otherwise small amounts of money from the super rich? Hell I'm all for that. That $72 billion could go to job creation and better infrastructure of the economy; I highly doubt the super rich would willingly spend that kind of money on anything that isn't mansions or sports cars. Sadly though, I'm not sure if it ever will happen, especially if we have a conservative president come 2012.

Certified Sausage Smoker Elfboy's Avatar
    MBTI
    ENFP
    Enneagram
    5w4 sx/sp
    Socionics
    SLI None

if people want the government to be taking so much money, why don't they just donate on the government's website? anyone can do it