User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    Intp
    Enneagram
    5w6
    Socionics
    ILI

Default What historical figure do you admire most?

... and what does that tell us about you?
    Vanitas vanitatum omnia vanitas

More human than human MetalWounds's Avatar
    MBTI
    TP
    Enneagram
    9w8

Chester A. Arthur - U.S. president.
    He went to same highschool that I did, which is quite small and in the middle of nowhere. (I graduated with 58) He was also an INTJ.
    I admire him because he came from almost nothing and rose to the top of the political world using his mind alone, despite much alienation by his political party.
    I suppose that this says that I value originality and reform over the established guard, no matter how unpopular.
    I'm doing science and I'm still alive

Procrastinating
    MBTI
    INTJ

Jesus... the man... I'm not religious but He's my Hero. Many, while sounding original, are just repeating what He said first and most don't know it.

Edit: Socrates and Aristotle would be good too.

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    8w7 sp/sx
    Socionics
    SLE Ti

From my avatar, you should be able to tell that I'm an admirer of Erwin Rommel, the German Field Marshall of the Afrika Korps in WW2. I love the way he challenged Hitler's orders, e.g. on the policy of Jews, and the way he still commanded infinite amounts of respect from so many people, through not only this but also his military genius.

I'm also partial to Alexander the Great, mainly because of his huge will power and determination. This is why I also admire Perikles of Athens, who roused the polis and inspired a bit of patriotism in them to fight the Persians. Not because of his being an orator, but because he, too, was a good strategist. The same applies to Themistokles, who used his skills to persuade the Athenians to spend a large amount of silver they'd dug up out of a mine on ships rather than a shitty wall.