User Tag List

12311 Last

MBTI
    INTP

Default If you think drugs should be illegal..

You are completely brainwashed. I've felt this for years now, but I just watched a Penn & Teller video on the subject and it got my blood boiling.

I guess I'll list a few of the reasons, but I'll post the vids too, so you might as well just watch those.

The first enraging thing about this is the hypocrisy. Alcohol and tobacco are legal and celebrated by nearly everyone, including as the show pointed out, our former president. Alcohol is a mind altering drug. I hate to bring personal experience into this, but I have extensive experience with both alcohol and weed, and it is safe to say that the former is infinitely more dangerous (and infinitely less fun, but I guess others can feel differently). However, around 500,000 people get arrested per year for possession of marijuana, while millions around the nation merrily drink themselves to a worse level of foolishness at bars every day. Rot in jail you damned potheads!

The show also stated that the "war on drugs" began in the Vietnam era as a red herring to distract from the Vietnam war. I agree with that, but I suppose it is not necessarily a fact. Anyway, they used the example of Prohibition in the 20s to demonstrate the analogy of what is going on today. Gangsters took over the distribution of alcohol, and much violence, crime, and general lack of well-being resulted. Yay.

Obviously the same thing goes on today. Dangerous drug lords control production and distribution of drugs. This obviously means people need to use violence and crime just to distribute drugs, and it also means that the drugs may be crude, unstandardized, or laced with other things. Many deaths have resulted.