User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w6 so/sp

Default Government involvement in economy

I initially posted this in Reason's excellent thread, but I'd like to encourage discussion of the topic among a wider audience, so:

I'm only beginning to understand the basics of economy, yet already I can see the problems inherent with governmental meddling in economic affairs. As Reason pointed out, governmental officials are, on the whole, in no way qualified to address economic issues. Even in situations where government officials do turn to people with some degree of expertise in the field, the pressure is still on these experts to crank out band-aid solutions so the politician can get the votes necessary to keep his job -- with little-to-no regard to long-term consequences. Not to mention that the "aristocracy of pull" that leads to all of the unfairnesses and absurdity bleeding hearts are so quick to point out is only possible in a government where officials have the authority granted to them to tamper with the economy!

A perfect example:

American farms have been cranking out well more corn than the nation can even consume. At present, the demand for corn in relation to the supply is so low that farmers, were it not for the checks handed out by the government, would actually be losing money on each ear of corn they grow. However, cheap corn benefits giant corporations like General Mills (for obvious reasons) and McDonald's (which feeds the corn to thousands of cows at what can only be described as "meat factories") -- corporations which have tremendous pull. Pull that wouldn't be possible if the government hadn't the authority to meddle with matters of economy!