User Tag List

123 Last

Default Poetry, it's meaning and intepretation.

Well I studied a lot of poetry in high school and the teacher would find all these abstract connections and realize small details about a poem that are so abstract.

I was wondering when these poets write them do they actually incorporate all these different meanings to it? Or does everyone have a different interpretation to these poems? Like when a teacher goes 'Robert Frost has clever done.....' I think to myself 'did Robert Frost really do that on purpose'?

Junior Member Catoptric Cistula's Avatar
    MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w6 so/sp

Most likely much of it has multiple meaning when being incorporated into word format. If anything abstract is being conceived it is often due to disparate meaning, attempting to form a cohesive basis for reality. At least that has been the case with anything I write.

Lay the coin on my tongue SilkRoad's Avatar
    MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    6w5 sp/sx

There are different ways to come at this. For instance, there are many different forms of literary criticism and interpretation. New Criticism (because it was new once...) basically looks at a work only on the basis of close reading/analysis of the text itself, without incorporating societal influences, the influence of the poet's life, etc. Freudian criticism, feminist cricitism, etc speak for themselves.