User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    ENTP

Default Music and Advantageous Functions

I know there are obviously music gods of every type, and that musical talent doesn't necessarily relate to type...but it seems like it should. As an Ne-dominant whose primary focus is music, i feel like i have a huge advantage in inventing and improvising by seeing weird new possibilities in music, and through Ti i can get an understanding of my entire musical thought system or whatever. but maybe Ses have a good attention to detail so it might work better for like chamber music or something? i'm not sure, does anyone have any take on this matter. are certain functions necessary for musical prowess?

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram

sensing would be necessary to hear how new input compares to the piece so far.

(having a good ear is S)

MBTI
    INFP

I'm a INFP musician/songwriter and I feel that my ability most likely comes from the F, which allows me to easily judge whether something sounds pleasant or unpleasant and whether it is more expressive/less expressive, more beautiful/less beautiful, and more interesting/less interesting than other possible sound combinations. The N allows me to make the music meaningful and correlate the sounds with the feelings they are supposed to represent. It would probably work this way for a T, also, because any strong judging process allows for the ability to determine whether a creative idea is interesting. NT music would probably sound somewhat similar to NF music, and from my experience with friends from both temperament categories, I find that they tend to have similar preferences when listening to music. NTs and NFs may like the same styles of music for different reasons, but what I find interesting is that they tend to like the same music at all when they are often so different about everything that actually matters.