User Tag List

Default Depression, in the grip, or what?

I've been feeling just so lossey about life lately. It's become so bad that yesterday I drank some nyquil straight out of the bottle in the middle of the day to try to forget my problems (& I'm not sick with a cold or anything), & I scratched my arms with my nails & hit my legs with my fists (one leg is still sore today). I don't have a therapist atm & talking about this extensively with my family doesn't seem like something I can manage. Maybe I should take to writing at one of the psych forums instead? I know the hitting & scratching thing is a form of self-harm, & it's something I've been doing on & off since I was around 7 years old. I've never cut, but I really fear that I may get to that point. I was wondering if any of you have ever been in my position & could offer up some advice? I hope I'm not sounding like a complete train wreck. & to throw in something mbti related, when a person falls into unhealthy behavior, are they acting out their inferior function or shadow functions? Also, can a person with a possible mental diagnosis be accurately typed with the mbti or enneagram?

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram
    4w5
    Socionics
    EII Fi

Yes, it sounds like you have depression and should see a therapist.

No, this does not mean you can't be accurately typed.
    You have your own personality, just like any other human being.
    4w5 so/sp - 5w4 so/sx - 9w1 sp/so
    Fi > Ne > Ni > Fe > Si > Ti > Se > Te
    Melancholic/Phlegmatic/Supine
    Likes gromit liked this post

MBTI
    ESFJ
    Enneagram
    6w7 so/sx

This sounds like depression to me; I have depression as well. You don't have to talk to your family about it unless you want to/feel ready to. I would look into contacting a therapist; it really helps to have people who listen to you and give you advice.