User Tag List

Thread: Se vs Si compared to Ne vs Ni -- Some personal impressions

Senior Member Array

Default Se vs Si compared to Ne vs Ni -- Some personal impressions

This subject has probably been done a hundred times or more. But I just felt like typing up something on the subject and can't be bothered to find exactly which past thread might pertain best. Please forgive the typos and all that--I'm moving rather quickly on this essay. There's some jumping around--typical Ne work.

Here's the tl;dr version:

My recent experiences with Se and Si dance instructors seems to elucidate a key distinction between Se and Si: Experience vs. System (to be explained below). And looking back, it seems to me that I can see the same kind of distinction between Ne and Ni in the translation work that I used to do when I was a staff translator on some big translation bureaus.

Recently I've been taking dance lessons: Salsa, ballroom, Swing, etc. It's a very Sensor-ish activity. Instructors are almost universally Si-Dom/Aux or Se-Dom/Aux. It makes sense, of course. An instructor has to be able to break the steps down and focus on all the tiny details: Where your body is pointed vs. where your body is headed, how your foot is landing, whether you're on the ball of the foot, the heel of the foot, the *inside* of the ball of the foot, the *outside* of the ball of the foot, etc.

So I've come to notice the following difference between Si instructors and Se instructors. (I'm an INFP myself, by the way, so I'm an outside observer--an iNtuitive. These are just personal impressions of what I see the instructors doing with their Si and Se.)

Si instructors:

When they're teaching a new dance step to students, they teach the new step as a *system*. That is, it appears that they have broken down the step and analyzed it in the past, and now they have at their fingertips these neat little counts and sequences that they've worked up to help them walk through the step with the students.