User Tag List

123 Last

Qatie:)

Default The Difference Between Se and Si

as an ENFP my weakest function would be the sensing function
    i am quite confused on the difference between Se and Si
    there seems to be next to nothing written about it
    if someone more knoledgeable than me could explain it, i would be very greatfull

MBTI
    INTP

I'm not an expert, but here's what I've learned and my opinions on it.

Si - like internal cataloging. Something happens, you record it in detail, then stored it away internally. You can recall it for problem solving (how did we solve it last time?) or it may lead you to generate bias or things you favor (the last time I had a pie backed with brand X's soft crust I remember [sensory detail]... = this is how pies are baked... = this is how a pie should be baked and/or this may be a trait that always applied to pies). I guess I can see it like "information comes at you > analyze > interpret > distill > now you remember the original object/information/type of thing with this "profile" applied to it". Am I making sense?

Se - more literal, action based, objective. Maybe taking things in at high detail and face value, looking for sensory experiences like roller coasters, scary movies, or even doing drugs/mind altering. I think the difference is that Si would "idealize" something, like (ridiculous but hard to explain otherwise) when a person looks at a red car with Si they think "Cars in my mind are always purple, therefore that moving vehicle isn't a car.", paying attention to what they "should" be sensing or have sensed and seemed correct/numerous/preferrable. Se would be like "That's a car and I can tell because it has wheels, it's moving, it looks like other cars, it's made by Ford, etc".

Qatie:)

so are you saying that Se is more like athletisism and Si is like being sentamental?
    Or are you saying Se is objective and Si relates things?

MBTI
    INTP