User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    iSFj
    Enneagram
    2 sx/so

Default What causes us to prefer Thinking or Feeling?

Considering that we all use both thinking and feeling to some degree, what makes us prefer one value set over the other? Is it biological? Neurological? Psychological? Due to experiences? Nature vs. Nurture? Social?

Permabanned

probably a bit of environment and genetic.

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w6 sp/sx

I do believe there's some connection with hormones. Someone already made these associations, which seems accurate imo.

The list does not cover functions, but groups. When dealing with SPs and SJs, the T and F factors are pretty much ignored.
    I'm a mere amateur, but I bet it works more or less like this:
    Si/Ni=serotonin
    Se/Ne=dopamine
    Fi/Fe=estrogen dominance
    Te/Ti=testosterone dominance
    -----------------

A man builds. A parasite asks 'Where is my share?'
    A man creates. A parasite says, 'What will the neighbors think?'
    A man invents. A parasite says, 'Watch out, or you might tread on the toes of God... '

-----------------

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    7w8
    Socionics
    ENTj

It's very much genetic imho.
    ENTj 7-3-8 sx/sp

@Rasofy, have you seen this article about a study on the correlation between testosterone and aggression?

It's interesting since it sheds a different light onto the effects of testosterone on humans.

Anew Leaf

I agree that it is primarily genetic. When I think of myself as a very young child I see pure Fi.

My dad is off the charts T and he always tried curbing how emotional I was... didn't really work, .

I dated an extreme T INTJ and he told me flat out his goal with me was to polish the edges of my emotions so I wasn't quite so emo. I resented it at the time but I have to admit that it turned out rather well.