User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    ISTP

Default Identical Types Amongst Siblings and/or Offspring?

First, I'm new here. Searched for this topic. Didn't find anything and thus, the new thread. Apologies up-front if this thread already exists.

So...I'd say I've been type-watching and learning about MBTI for about 10 years or so and there's two things I've never seen.

1) A child and parent of the same MBTI type
    2) Two siblings of the same type

It must be possible as you couldn't avoid it in a family of 15/16+, but how often does that really occur in the world today?

Has any one out there that's fairly experienced with MBTI ever seen either phenomena?

Thanks!

Permabanned
    MBTI
    ExTJ

My brother and me could both be possibly fit into the INTP type, though he tends more towards some sort of S (overall doesn't fit one type well at all), and I lean more towards the INT types, so it is an iffy example.

Hmmm... I know I've heard of a parent and a child having the same type. I remember an INFP on INFPg mentioning that her dad was probably an INFP.

My mom types as an ESFP, and my older brother is an ESTP, so that's close.

It would be both very weird and very intriguing to have an INFP parent. I'd high-five fate for handing me an INFP sib! Sigh.
    They're running just like you
    For you, and I, wooo
    So people, people, need some good ol' love

insert random title here Randomnity's Avatar
    MBTI
    ISTP
    Enneagram
    6w5 sp/sx

One of my sisters is IxTx for sure, and maybe shares my type. She's too introverted to know for sure, but I wouldn't rule it out.

(welcome)

MBTI
    ISTP

Default Same Types

So far, doesn't sound like any very conclusive examples...some possibilities but no "definites". I guess, over the years, I've tended towards believing that it more than likely doesn't occur in typical-sized (maybe I should say Western-sized) families.