• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

MBTI types for government?

goodgrief

MBTI Type
INTJ
Which types do you think would be best for running a government and in which roles?

backatya

Well, I've worked at the federal level for about eight years so I don't think I'm an expert, but I'd have to say that it depends on the department for which you work. Working for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service will be different than working for NASA. One is populated mostly by biologists, and the other mostly by engineers. However, I will say that the federal government like many other publicly-funded entities is not as welcoming to very ambitious or enterprising individuals. This may eliminate the "E" types, as well as other types to expect things to happen quickly. I worked for a scientific organization and was surprised at the sometimes complete lack of logic when designing projects, etc. If you are intolerant of inefficiency and downright absurdity as many TJs would be (myself included) then navigating the politics and poor organizational management that you sometimes find in government could make for a very toxic situation. Sometimes efforts seem to be a bit of a farce or "boondoggle". They are not affected directly by market forces, so bad management is often times accepted or even the norm.