User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    I

Default Development of Cognitive functions throughout one's life

So ever since I learned about MBTI, I've been interested in the progression of the first 4 cognitive functions in a person's MBTI throughout his/her life. For example, in an INTP... the functions are TiNeSiFe... and the theory goes that in a person's life, each function will develop in order (in an INTP, Ti is first to develop, Ne second, Si third, and finally Fe). I was wondering in detail how this process takes place (for any type)...

My main questions is at what ages do each of the functions generally start to develop? By age 50 for example, does one usually have their first 4 functions in place?

failure to thrive AphroditeGoneAwry's Avatar
    MBTI
    INfj
    Enneagram
    451 sx/so
    Socionics
    ENFj Ni

I'm not an expert by any means, but I find functions fascinating, and enlightening and downright necessary when one is struggling with typing. There are others here who I've talked to on these same questions. In the Functions of Type book by the Hartzlers they talk about the characteristics of each of the eight functions. I also have The 16 Personality Types by Berens and Nardi. In this book they say the first function develops from birth to age 12, the second from 12-20, the third from 20-35, and the fourth 35-50. I don't see how one could develop singly. Of course, you use all to a varying degree throughout your lifetime. I perceive though, that that is at least one reason why older people can seem so Wise; they simply have more facility and experience with using all their functions.

Some have said that instead of going from Ni>Fe>Ti>Se>Ne>Fi>Te>Si as Beebe posits, that you really work on a function group Ni/Ne instead. This makes sense to me. I use Ni and Ne and Fe and Fi more than say, S or T in either form.
    Ni/Ti/Fe/Si
    4w5 5w4 1w9
    ~Torah observant, Christ inspired~
    Life Path 11