User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    ISFJ

Default Alternatives to Kiersey's classifications

This post is for anyone who dislikes Kiersey's way of classifying the four temperaments (NF idealist, NT rational, SP artist, SJ guardian). From talking to simulatedworld and by my own experience, I have come up with alternative temperament groupings (that quite possibly have been proposed before). If this is redundant at all or has been previously tried please point it out, but be nice - I'm a beginner

Instead of grouping via the iNtuitive function dichotomies (NF and NT) and via the Sensing J/P preferences (SJ and SP), I propose a different four groups:

IxxP - The Idealist
    IxxJ - The Learner
    ExxP - The Explorer
    ExxJ - The Leader

Now, these are slightly vague as hell, but let me attempt to clarify what I mean with the groupings (if you weren't quick enough to notice - it's pretty obvious).

The IxxP, by virtue of its functions, will use some form of Ji (introverted judging) as a dominant (leading) functional role. This could be Ti or Fi.

The IxxJ, by virtue of its functions will use some form of Pi (introverted perception) as a leading role, either Si or Ni.

The ExxP will use some form of Pe (extroverted perception) as its leading role, either Ne or Se.

The ExxJ will use some form of Je (extroverted judging) as its lead role, either Te or Fe.

So what these boil down to is the attitude and function one prefers in the lead. I believe knowing the lead role is very telling of one's type and is a better classification than what we use on the forum and what Kiersey proposed. Kiersey's temperaments aren't even consistent with themselves, so we have:

NF (idealist) - indicates only that they use some form of intuition and feeling. The issue is that Ne and Ni are very different, as are Fe and Fi.