User Tag List

123 Last

Banned
    MBTI
    intp

Default is personality type hereditary in any way?

my father passed away when i was young so i grew with pretty much only vague ideas about who he was. my mom had her own issues with him so she rarely talked about him and i rarely asked. had lunch with this guy that was his best friend and we talked about him for like 3 hours. he and i came to the realization that we are very very similiar. like everything from general personality, sense of humor, style of dress, business sense, relationships, recreational drug use, performance in school, intelligence, general attitude etc etc. his friend even pointed out that the mannerisms i used and the way i sat at a table were the same. its kinda creepy finding this out. my whole life i thought i was a totally original person.

what can explain this?

MBTI
    ESTP
    Enneagram
    7w8 sx/so
    Socionics
    SLE

I'm no expert on MBTI or genetics, but I do understand the basics of both, and I also have typed my whole family with the same test. Get ready for some silly results:

DAD: ESTJ
    MOM: INFP
    ME: ESTP
    BROTHER: INTJ

My wife is INFJ. Her Dad is ESFP.
    See a pattern yet?

MBTI
    InTP
    Enneagram
    9w1 sp
    Socionics
    INTj Ni

I'm a bit skeptical as to whether we are predisposed to certain types based on heredity, but, I have a thought in the back of my mind that it might be genetically determined in some way, possibly like gender--mostly set in stone right at birth.
    intp | type 9w1 sp/sx/so

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    FIVE