• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

MBTI and Cognitive Functions

MBTI Type
ISTJ
I'm kinda new to this; so, I don't really get them yet. But, upon doing a little bit of research, I notice that ISTJs, ESTJs, INFPs, and ENFPs have the same functions, only in a different order. So, what exactly does this mean, and what is the significance of the order? I'm particularly curious about this because I am and ISTJ and my husband is an INFP.

Athenian200

Protocol Droid
MBTI Type
INFJ
Enneagram
4w5
Oh, Hi, RansomedbyFire. Welcome to MBTI Central.

Anyway, as far as I can tell, it means all their functions are focused in the same directions in terms of Introversion/Extraversion. We aren't sure theoretically what this means, but it could mean that despite having different personalities, these types understand each other on some level for this particular reason. I've noticed a lot of people seem to marry/befriend those who have their tertiary and inferior as dominant and auxiliary, but I'm not sure if that's significant.