User Tag List

123 Last

Default Is part of our personality hidden from us?

This was posted by ? a while back?
    In their booklet “The 16 Personality Types: Descriptions for Self-Discovery”, Dr. Linda v. Berens and Dario Nardi said that there is a logic behind the names given in their system. The first word in the name is the inside view, how we often see ourselves and what others don’t see. The second word in the name is the outside view, how others see us and what we may not see in ourselves. Thus as an Analyzer Operator, I see the Analyzer (one who examines methodically by separating into parts and studying their interrelations) in myself, however I am oblivious to the Operator (one who operates a machine, apparatus, or the like). As such others may see us highly capable of operating tools but we do not see it in ourselves, resulting in non-relation to that aspect of who we are.

This is most likely the case of all introverted types resulting in INTPs seeing the Designer but not the Theorizer, INFJs seeing the Forseer, but not the Developer and so on.
    I would agree. I am ISFP and can see Composer but not Producer. In fact I often beat myself up over not being productive enough.

People have sometimes mentioned there is a part of me I cannot see.
    So I'm curious can you see the second word in yourself?

Here is the list of names.
    ESTP Promoter Executors
    ESFP Motivator Presenters
    ESTJ Implementor Supervisors
    ESFJ Facilitator Caretakers
    ENTJ Strategist Mobilizers
    ENTP Explorer Inventors
    ENFJ Envisioner Mentors
    ENFP Discoverer Advocates
    ISTP Analyzer Operators
    ISFP Composer Producers
    ISTJ Planner Inspectors
    ISFJ Protector Supporters
    INTJ Conceptualizer Directors
    INTP Designer Theorizers
    INFJ Foreseer Developers
    INFP Harmonizer Clarifiers

Sounds a bit like the theory behind Johari Wondow...

Wikipedia link

As ESTP I can actually see both descriptors in my personality...