• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Intellectual Laziness...

B

beyondaurora

Okay, I admit...

I'm lazy. And not just around the house but intellectually lazy.

I've realized lately what a fraud I am. I graduated with honors in college, and I quickly "rose to the top" in my past corporate career (thank god, that's over)!.

But it's not because I can "think".

It's because I know how to sort through information and find that which is necessary for me to succeed. And I rely heavily on this talent.

I honestly don't care how most things work. I just want to know how to apply the key points to my situation. I want an outline to follow. Tell me the grammatical rules ("i before e except after c", comma splices, etc.), and I'll follow them to a "t", but tell me the parts of a sentence (prepositions and all that mumbo jumbo), and you'll lose me. It's just not relevant to me.

In school, I memorized only what I needed to know in order to ace the test. I can honestly say that I've probably only retained 10% or less of what I "learned" in college. That's the problem...I didn't really learn much of anything. I memorized.

What's interesting, though, is that I'm great at troubleshooting and clarifying. And I think I overuse my critical thinking skills. I'm quite the "killjoy" in my family.

So...