User Tag List

Talking Sugar-free recipe for cake anyone?

I recently bought a bag of SPLENDA No Calorie Sweetener, Granulated...

I tried making an existing recipe of Homemade Baked Apple Pie with it and simply substituted it for sugar, but of course it didn't come out quite right. Wasn't too bad though. A little tweaking would've helped.

Does anyone have any kick-ass sugar-free cake recipes? My s.o. has Type 1 Diabetes and I'm a decent cook, but have virtually no experience with baking sugar-free desserts. Any help at all would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance!
    "The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things." - Rainer Maria Rilke

MBTI
    enfp
    Enneagram

Splenda I found is much different from regular sugar. You can substitute it for anything sugar needs, but the measurements have to vary. My grandma when she lived with us for 8 years was diabetic, so we were always making sugar-free things which taste none-too-pleasent. We got excited when splenda came out, tried to make lemonade with it for her, and it wasnt until after I served it that I tried it and realized it was so sweet it twisted my tongue around. It was a real waste, rubbing all the lemons down to juice and all for the batch. We really didn't use it again after that..

...I'm sure any website online that's specifically geared toward splenda would ensure it came out correct though.

Quote Originally Posted by kyuuei View Post