User Tag List

12 Last

Default Intentional Food

This will be a blog about my efforts (and those of anyone who wants to join me!) to be more intentional about the food I eat and prepare. The focus will be on eating and preparing food that benefits not necessarily from a great deal of effort and expense but rather from forethought and time. So the focus will be on things like slow cooked meals, bread, fermented food, light gardening, food preservation etc.

I'm no expert on these things and will be learning as I go along and would appreciate any input from other members.

Hopefully I can take some time each week to further this project and make a post. It will be a fun adventure!
    Take the weakest thing in you
    And then beat the bastards with it
    And always hold on when you get love
    So you can let go when you give it
    Likes Noon, BadOctopus, EJCC, gromit liked this post

MBTI
    INTP

Good luck!

I've been doing this somewhat myself. Just trying to get in the fruits and veggies is hard. Is this mainly for health, or for enjoyment?

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    5w4 sp/sx

Cool! I look forward to stealing reading your recipes. Especially the slow-cooker ones. My crockpot is such a lifesaver.

Thanks for the feedback it's very encouraging!

I have to prepare and freeze some split chicken breasts for chicken and dumplings next week. So I think I just might start with making a simple broth with what remains.

I usually buy chicken broth and haven't been terribly pleased the one or two times I've tried to make it in the past (I think it was just a bit too gelatinous for me especially since I'm used to store bought). I will be back to report how it went. Since I'm planning ahead to do the dumplings it makes sense to do it this way and then use the broth in the chicken n dumplings.