User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram
    9w1

Default Organic home garden

I have just planted a vegitable garden and I'm trying to do it organically as much as possible. I didn't use the expensive organic soil or start everything from seeds, but I want to at least control pests and fertilize organically.

I'm very new to this. I haven't even done a vegitable garden before period, much less a (mostly) organic one. I'm especially concearned with all the rabbits and deer I've seen around here. As well as ants. If there is anyone out there who has done this before, I'd love to know any tips that you might have.

I'm growing Roma and heirloom tomatoes, three colors of bell peppers, three colors of Swiss chard, red lettuce and arugula. I have no idea what challenges I'm in for with these crops, but any hints would be much appreciated

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    9w1
    Socionics
    INFj None

A neighbor told me to plant marigolds around my garden to repel rabbits. I tried it and not only does it make for a pretty garden, it seems to work. They smell kinda weird and critters don't like it.

Edit: Mulch is wonderful for weed control. A stable can be a good place to get organic fertilizer.
    “There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old’s life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.”
    ~ John Rogers

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram
    9w1

Oh, I love marigolds. One of my favorite flowers. I think I'll try that. At least even if it doesn't work I can still enjoy the flowers.

What sort of region do you live in, mockingbird?

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram
    9w1