User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    INFJ

Default Learning to Cook

Lately I have had a desire to domesticate myself a little more. I'll hopefully be on my own in graduate school and I think it might be important for me to learn how to cook. It comes with a few perks I wouldn't mind having either.

To be honest, the only kinds of food I feel comfortable making are desserts and Italian. But I don't really know where else to start. I recently moved back home since I graduated and I think I might be able to pull my weight more if I took over cooking dinner for everyone. It's a chore I wouldn't mind doing since it would be something productive to me on a personal level.

Anyone care to share how they taught themselves to cook?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Enneagram 4w5 social

Phantonym

Trial and error. Cooking came quite naturally to me. I never had to nor had I any interest for cooking when living with my parents. So, when I moved out, I had to start whipping up something to feed myself. I advocate healthy and balanced meals that taste good, so no junk food. Eating out is not really my thing either. No problem, I have a head on my shoulders, I can read and follow instructions, I can use my imagination. I didn't have any hesitations with starting to try things out.

Nobody is a natural with cooking, it just takes some experience, time and practice. Start with simple things. If something works, stick with it. If not, time to perfect it. Keep on trying, you can always start over. Getting comfortable with making simple things makes you more confident to start trying new, more difficult dishes.

Maybe get some regular cookbooks for starters, nothing ultra fancy. Start browsing the web, there's lots of websites and cooking forums that share good recipes with instructions and tips. The sky is the limit! But be careful, it can be highly addictive once you get yourself into it. There's so many new things to discover all the time. It's fascinating beyond belief.

MBTI
    INFP