User Tag List

123 Last

Thread: Making clothes

MBTI
    SEXY

Default Making clothes

Since I like looking original and getting noticed for it, I decided I want to get some one of, self designed shirts and sweaters. The ideas are in my head, now I need to figure out how to implement it practically. I want to get a sewing machine and learn how to work with it, but since I have no experience whatsoever with it I want to know what I'm getting into first.

1. When getting a sewing machine, what should I look for.

2. Is it possible to make embroideries with a regular sewing machine? If so how difficult is it, and how do I do it?

3. On shirts, what types of printing are there and what are the advantages and disadvantages of each type?

4. How difficult is it generally to make your own clothes?

5. Any further comments?

MBTI
    free
    Enneagram
    nope

'Simplicity' has nice semi cheap designs for that sort of such.

It's not too difficult to do. A friend of mine made a sweater on the comedown of a mushroom trip,... it was his first piece of clothing he had made,... it was nice...

When getting a sewing machine, you should ask for a awl, because you're on the internet, and I assume you're totally hardcore.
    Everyone is a case study.

MBTI
    ENFP
    Enneagram
    7w6
    Socionics
    ENFp

1. I'm really not sure how to answer this. I've been using the same machine since high school which was a hand me down from someone else. I think older machines are stronger and work better. Maybe check good will? Craigslist? Take fabric with you to test the machine. You can get a new machine, but since I use my old diehard machine I don't know how to shop for one.