• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Ask Malia: Cooking advice

Geoff

Lallygag Moderator
MBTI Type
INXP
I'm a keen/able chef, who often has mexican dishes I'd like to make that call for tomatillos. These are not available in the UK, is there an acceptable substitute?

maliafee

Navajo Stew - TASTY

Hey Malia! Great thread idea!!

I've been given the assignment of a vegetarian dish for the next potluck with my friends. The theme for the night is Old Western Films, but someone already snagged the obvious spaghetti option. Do you have any ideas for a really tasty southwestern vegetarian addition? I'm pretty comfortable using Tofu, but exploring some legumes would be interesting to try.

:D Thanks!

My very favorite southwestern vegetarian dish is called Navajo Stew. My INTJ brother gave it to me and I kind of adjusted it to my liking. This is one of the tastiest things I have ever eaten. No kidding. Here you go:

NAVAJO STEW
=========

1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced

1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped
1 large can tomatoes, and their juices, fire roasted if possible
1 medium can black beans, and bean liquid (if you don't like bean liquid, add a little more veggie broth and discard bean liquid)
2 cups vegetable broth

1-2 cups cooked brown rice (cook according to package instructions)