User Tag List

Default trying to quit smoking; your experiences?

I've been smoking regularly for about 2 years now, I go through about a pack of 20 cigarettes in 3-4 days, faster if I'm hanging out with my smoker buddies. I used to smoke primarily because my friends smoked so much, and we all sort of made it worse for each other- all of us smoke on our own when we're alone, too.

recently the heaviest smoker of the group (and most socially dominant) went overseas to study, and I thought it coincided with a nice time for me to cut down. I've always been an agnostic of sorts- i know it's bad for me, but i really like it and i haven't found a good enough reason to quit.

finally i've decided i'm going to do it as a test of mental fortitude more than anything else. your experiences, guys?

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    8w7 sx/so
    Socionics
    EIE

I did that mental fortitude thing once. Quit for about a year.
    It's nice to have a cigarette every now and then, though.
    I'm taking a break from it all right now, though, because i've started working out seriously.

The withdrawal part is definitely worst. My appetite goes up from big to EAT WORLD, I get impatient and such.
    Distraction (computer games, books, movies, tv series), social isolation and complete avoidance of stores for a couple of days at least is more or less mandatory.

Mightier than the tread of marching armies is the power of an idea whose time has come

Minister of Propagandhi ajblaise's Avatar
    MBTI
    INTP

Electric cigarettes.

I really didn't see myself quitting normal cigs anytime soon, but then I started on these, just to try them out, and I've never thought about going back since.

I still get nicotine, but it comes in vapor, not smoke. In fact, I'm probably getting more nicotine now, because it's so easy to puff on without stopping. And now tobacco smoke grosses me out, I feel retarded for doing it for so long.

MBTI
    INTx