User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    5 sx

Default Questions about therapy

I've been dealing with severe depression and anxiety since the beginning of middle school, and I'm now a college freshman. I have major depressive disorder, social anxiety disorder, and had an adjustment disorder during middle school that set both into motion.

My most important question is what to do about therapy. I went for about five months during my junior year of high school, hated it, convinced myself and everyone around me that I was okay, and quit. For the first couple of months I was crying too much for there to be productive conversation, and even when my medication was high enough that I was incapable of crying, I couldn't bring myself to be open. My therapist seemed to think it was a good idea to only ask about surface-level things, and I wasn't brave enough to change the subject.

So I'm going to talk to someone at my school's counselling center soon, and I don't know how I'm going to do it. I should probably write stuff up in case I can't talk (seriously, I cry uncontrollably), but what all should I address, and how in-depth should I go? It says on their website that they refer people with recurring issues to mental health services in the community -- do you think I'll be able to choose a therapist/psychologist/etc., and if so, how do I choose? What types of therapy would you recommend for my situation? I'd rather not explain more publicly, so if you need more information to answer my questions, let me know and I'll PM you.

Thanks.

MBTI
    isfp
    Enneagram
    4w5 sp/sx

Couple of things to consider: