• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Questions about therapy

mintleaf

MBTI Type
infp
Enneagram
9w1
Instinctual Variant
sp
I've been dealing with severe depression and anxiety since the beginning of middle school, and I'm now a college freshman. I have major depressive disorder, social anxiety disorder, and had an adjustment disorder during middle school that set both into motion.

My most important question is what to do about therapy. I went for about five months during my junior year of high school, hated it, convinced myself and everyone around me that I was okay, and quit. For the first couple of months I was crying too much for there to be productive conversation, and even when my medication was high enough that I was incapable of crying, I couldn't bring myself to be open. My therapist seemed to think it was a good idea to only ask about surface-level things, and I wasn't brave enough to change the subject.