• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Stabile & Situation-dependent behavior as alternatives

Ghost of the dead horse

filling some space
MBTI Type
ENTJ
I'm studying this idea: a stable person is predictable and they can be used like a tool. Consistent behavior in a man is same that you expect from a tool; it performs the same way regardless of circumstances, only depending on your ability to use it.

On the other hand, one of the best (if not the best) personality style paradigmas is to act according to situation. Now, situations change, and someone who's quick to understand what the situation is all about is also prone to act and behave differently in different situations. Now, this kind of a person isn't as much of a "tool" but she seems "unstable" to some, and "witty" to some.

Edit: compare this with p-types, where strong commitments to any particular personality trait are seen as illness, and one should act depending on circumstances instead.

Stanton Moore

morose bourgeoisie
MBTI Type
INFP
A stable person is so until they are not, whether through action, circumstance or accident.

So the same person can be considered stable now and unstable later.

sprinkles

Mojibake
MBTI Type
INFJ
Being unable to adapt to situations is not stable, it's just dull.