User Tag List

123 Last

Default This has to be stopped.

MBTI
    intp
    Enneagram
    5w4 sx

How is that not considered as child abuse and what qualifies that as a therapy?
    "Where wisdom reigns, there is no conflict between thinking and feeling."
    — C.G. Jung

Read

morose bourgeoisie
    MBTI
    INFP

Wow, that's fucked up. That's child abuse to be sure. Coersion and double-binds can create severe mental illness in children. Disgusting.

Senior Member Survive & Stay Free's Avatar
    MBTI
    ESTJ
    Enneagram
    9 so/sx

I've got to say that I'm a residential social worker and a lot of my practice is informed by attachment theory, I dont recognise what is being talked about here, if you would like to be informed about what attachment theory is and how it can inform therapeautic practices, the majority of which involve talking, then there are far better places to get informed than following these links.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attachment_theory

While I've never heard of this woman Welch, I'm acquainted with John Bowlby and Donald Winnicott, psychoanalysts and child psychologists in the UK who developed their practice through study of evacuees in the UK and children being looked after by families and in residential/group living situations during and after the war, this was a pretty unique opportunity to study and assess the impact of attachment, loss and bonding between children and carers:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donald_Winnicott

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Bowlby

Attachment disorders are real. They arent disputed like other childhood behaviourial diagnosis, such as attention deficit hyperactive disorders, some of which are actually considered associated with attachment problems and developmental deficits resulting from that.