User Tag List

MBTI
    XNXJ

Default I have suddenly become a chronic procrastinator

I'm a freelance writer and I'm normally very disciplined and always meet my deadlines (I get writing assignments and sometimes I edit novels). But during my two last assignments, I have procrastinated chronically. I'm talking about missing deadlines, and having a little more than half a novel edited only 36 hours before the deadline. And in the last writing assignment (a non-fiction, an article I was supposed to do research and on and then write about later), I had a blank file 15 hours before the deadline. I'm losing sleep because I'd be up till 3 in the morning, trying to work but I'm actually getting nothing done.

What the hell is wrong with me? I was never like this before. I find myself "running off" to women's forums, doing online window shopping (which leads to actual shopping--and is bad for my wallet), reading articles unrelated to work, and watching videos on YouTube. I keep asking myself "what happened" and how did I suddenly become this way? I have no idea. Help? TIA.

Maybe you needed a break or a vacation but didn't take one?

Fatigue or illness usually precede my bouts with extreme procrastination.

Being behind schedule is a horrible feeling. It is hard to justify taking breaks because of the schedule, but we need to. But then a break could lead to procrastination and more stress. The stress causes anxiety which makes us want to procrastinate...yeah, it sucks, I've been there.

Can you drop projects without hurting your reputation or lively hood? Then focus on the ones that are really important, and catch up on those?

Unless you've had the habit for a long time, I believe procrastination is a symptom of:
    1) a lack of creative energy (which I think means you need fruitful R&R) or
    2) a lack of motivation (which I think means a change in direction) or