• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Do people not have the ability to remember other people as well as some people do?

xisnotx

Permabanned
Typically, I can remember most people who I have been introduced to, or interacted with, in a way that indicates to me that we are "more than just strangers". I'm not good with names (not bad with them..) but I typically can remember peoples faces...where I saw that face before...etc etc.

I go to an isolated campus with 20k or so students. I would say that out of every 15-20 random faces, I can recognize at least one face..and realize why I recognize it (Where I saw them..or see them frequently) That is just over 1000 people..or faces, that I have "profiled".

Out of these 1000 faces..I only know like maybe 10 of them intimately enough to actually go up to talk to. (A limitation I put on myself lol)

But I "know" 990 other faces.

What I find funny is every time I see one of the 990 faces..I try to make eye contact, and they typically don't comply. For example..a friend of mine once briefly introduced me to a piano major..and she played the piano for us once (around 8 months ago). It was the only time I've ever interacted with her (and it was like maybe 10 minutes of total reaction)...and I just saw her again...and I tried to make eye contact with her..and nothing..