User Tag List

123 Last

Permabanned

Default Do people not have the ability to remember other people as well as some people do?

Typically, I can remember most people who I have been introduced to, or interacted with, in a way that indicates to me that we are "more than just strangers". I'm not good with names (not bad with them..) but I typically can remember peoples faces...where I saw that face before...etc etc.

I go to an isolated campus with 20k or so students. I would say that out of every 15-20 random faces, I can recognize at least one face..and realize why I recognize it (Where I saw them..or see them frequently) That is just over 1000 people..or faces, that I have "profiled".

Out of these 1000 faces..I only know like maybe 10 of them intimately enough to actually go up to talk to. (A limitation I put on myself lol)

But I "know" 990 other faces.

What I find funny is every time I see one of the 990 faces..I try to make eye contact, and they typically don't comply. For example..a friend of mine once briefly introduced me to a piano major..and she played the piano for us once (around 8 months ago). It was the only time I've ever interacted with her (and it was like maybe 10 minutes of total reaction)...and I just saw her again...and I tried to make eye contact with her..and nothing..

I've always just assumed that people like that were just too busy to look up and see my face, that if she were to look up she would instantly remember me..but maybe, she actually doesn't remember me..or isn't consciously aware that she has interacted with me before.

Is it possible that some people can't remember having talked to you, even if briefly, a couple months/years ago?

To me, that seems strange...how could you forget?

(Or perhaps they just don't want to talk to me...so they pretend not to see me, when they do...I hope people aren't that mean lol)

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    584 sx/sp
    Socionics
    ILI Ni

And who are you again?