User Tag List

MBTI
    Aeon
    Enneagram
    10w so
    Socionics
    LOL

Default Impersonality and preference for communication methods?

Has anyone considered why they prefer particular communication methods for particular tasks?
    Obviously this is limited to logistics - you can't speak face to face with someone interstate or overseas and likewise you might only be able to buy a particular product online even though you would prefer to buy it at a local store.

What tasks do you prefer to do via face to face communication and why?

For example certain tasks require less impersonality than others.

Similarly, for speaking over the phone, email as well as internet forums?

MBTI
    INtp
    Enneagram
    5w6 sp/so
    Socionics
    LII Ne

I prefer to do in person tasks that I am just learning how to do, especially hands-on sorts of things and new procedures. That way I can get instant feedback regarding my technique and see how it's done. If there's a part of it I'm not clear about, I can just ask the person right away and not have to wait.

Sometimes group assignments are alot easier to manage in person. I remember in college and grad school doing group assignments when it was difficult for us to all meet in person. We ended up having to exchange a bunch of emails back and forth. It worked okay but it would have been more efficient if we could just all meet in person.

If I have to call a company about something (like a question about something on my bill) I much prefer to talk to a human being right away rather than having to navigate through a complicated menu.

Most other tasks I'm fine with handing them via email. There are times when I really like ordering things online. I don't even have to set foot in a store and in some cases its cheaper. At times, I wish I could just buy a car online rather than having to deal with pushy salespeople.