• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Hiding your boredom and disinterest

Such Irony

Honor Thy Inferior
MBTI Type
INtp
Enneagram
5w6
Instinctual Variant
sp/so
I have difficulties where I'm in a group of others where they will be talking about stuff that I have no knowledge of and no interest in. I try to hide my disinterest to the best of my ability and I must do a pretty good job of it because rarely do they say "you must be bored" and they just keep talking about the same thing. But I feel really awkward in these types of conversations. It's hard when the topic of conversation gives you nothing you can contribute and its hard to ask questions without looking completely ignorant. I often feel this way because when I'm in a group of people, so many of the conversations focus on pop culture things like movies and TV, which I rarely pay attention to. I couldn't even tell you most of the movies that are playing in the theatre right now.

At work most of the people are older than me and are in a different stage of life. They will talk about their families and such and issues they have in raising their children. I have no kids and am unmarried and feel like I'm on a completely different plane from them.

The things that interest me just wouldn't interest most people so I don't bring them up.